SportsJune 12, 2024
The Semoball Awards finalists for Southeast Missouri's top spring athletes and coaches have been announced, featuring standout performers in baseball, track and field, golf, tennis, softball, soccer and volleyball.
Clay Herrell

Woodland's Reed Layton, a Semoball Awards finalist, and Jackson's Bryce Gentry race in the 3,200-meter event at the SEMO Conference championship meet April 27 at Cape Central High School.
Woodland's Reed Layton, a Semoball Awards finalist, and Jackson's Bryce Gentry race in the 3,200-meter event at the SEMO Conference championship meet April 27 at Cape Central High School. Tony Capobianco ~ Southeast Missourian

Semoball Awards finalists for the spring sports categories were announced Thursday morning on a selection show broadcasted live on SEMO ESPN Radio and streamed on the Facebook page.

Advance volleyball coach Erin Hoffman was selected as the recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award.

During her career, Hoffman has racked up more than 700 wins, won six state titles, is a Missouri sports hall of famer and has coached nearly 30 All-State players so far during her career.


Levi McKinnie, Chaffee

Gabe Dirnberger, Oran

Cooper Rhodes, Jackson

Mason Adams, Portageville

Ashton Williams, Kennett

Kobe Watson, Scott City

Troy O’Keefe, Perryville

Noah Johnson, East Prairie

Ross Peters, Kelly

Kolby Greenwall, Poplar Bluff

Boys Track and Field

Skyler Still, Kelly

Darius Graham, Poplar Bluff

Jonathan Hartmann, Saxony Lutheran

Reed Layton, Woodland

Hayden VanGennip, Woodland

Kent Sheridan, Cape Central

Kevin Thompson, Kennett

Christopher Artis Jr., Sikeston

Ben Dowdy, Dexter

Namarius Banks-Warren, Scott County Central

Girls Track and Field

Lauren Eftink, Notre Dame

Reagan Meyer, St. Vincent

Angela Dobbins, Malden

Carlyanne Cossou, Chaffee

Emma Duenne, Notre Dame

Amya Bills, New Madrid

Jada Jones, Charleston

Abigail Spooler, Notre Dame

Kennedy Zgaynor, Poplar Bluff

Blaire Riley, Kelly

Boys Golf

Payton Strattman, St. Vincent

Landon Barks, Poplar Bluff

Lawson Barks, Poplar Bluff

Fredric Nesselrodt, Dexter

Ian Lambert, Jackson

Boys Tennis

Michael Bogdanovich, Notre Dame

Lawson Blocker and Cooper Worley, Dexter

Charlie West and Thomas Southard, Notre Dame

Matthew Austin and Blake Schreckenberg, Notre Dame

Tavian Towns, Poplar Bluff

Don't miss the news!Get a weekly email with the latest news


Mallary Barks, Woodland

Kinsley Bogenpohl, Oak Ridge

Carlyanne Cossou, Chaffee

Blaire Riley, Kelly

Lauren Estes, Notre Dame

Maleigh Lemings, Holcomb

Molly Spane, Oran

Handley McAtee, Kennett

Miley Conklin, Jackson

Addison Carlton, Advance

Girls Soccer

Kennedi Sims, Sikeston

Catherine Schrumpf, Sikeston

Camille Richey, Saxony Lutheran

Clara Brune, Saxony Lutheran

Olivia Klinkhardt, Jackson

Camryn Alsdorf, Jackson

Ava Ernst, Perryville

Ana Moll, Perryville

Addison Clippard, Notre Dame

Maya Thebeau, Notre Dame

Boys Volleyball

Luke Eggemeyer, Saxony Lutheran

Luke Seyer, Notre Dame

Joseph Dodson, Notre Dame

Jonathan Palmer, Saxony Lutheran

Brayden Zoellner, Saxony Lutheran

Comeback Player of the Year

John-Paul Sauer, Jackson

Dalton Forck, Kelly

Max Vogel, Cape Central

Kaetlyn Danley, Holcomb

Abby Wilson, Poplar Bluff

Coach of the Year

Erin Hoffman, Advance Volleyball

Joe Bickings, Oran Baseball

Dayna Powell, Cape Central Swimming

Tyler Davis, Poplar Bluff Golf

Ryan Layton, Woodland Track and Cross Country

The finalists were selected by a sports panel made up of representatives from the Southeast Missourian, Standard Democrat, Dexter Statesman, Daily American Republic and Delta Dunklin Democrat.

The event features a celebrity keynote speaker with some of the biggest names in sports having made appearances. Previous speakers include: two-time ESPY winner Kyle Maynard, softball great Jennie Finch, NFL player and TV analyst Mark Schlereth, World Series MVP David Eckstein, WNBA player Lisa Leslie, former pitcher and current broadcaster Rick Horton, former MLB relief pitcher Andrew Miller, comedian Mike Goodwin and Kansas City Chiefs mascot Dan Meers.

The Semoball Awards are presented by Mercy and brought to you by official bank sponsor The Bank of Missouri and title sponsors SEMO ESPN Radio, the St. Louis Cardinals, rustmedia and your local newspaper.

"We're excited about this summer's Semoball Awards," said Lucas Presson, assistant publisher and general manager of the Southeast Missourian. "It's one of the highlights of the year where we get to recognize the best of the best in Southeast Missouri for their success on the field and in the classroom."

Presson also noted a word of thanks to this year's sponsors.

"We're thankful for our tremendous group of sponsors who make the Semoball Awards possible," Presson said. "These organizations represent the region well and are invested in the success of the region."

The Semoball Awards, presented by Mercy, returns to LaCroix Church on July 12 for a first-class, unforgettable, red-carpet awards show featuring the presentation of 28 awards and recognition of the Lifetime Achievement Award winner.

Tickets can be purchased online at

Don't miss the news!Get a weekly email with the latest news