SportsFebruary 28, 2024
Discover the finalists for the Semoball Awards fall sports, announced live on SEMO ESPN Radio and streamed on Facebook. Celebrate Southeast Missouri's top student-athletes at the red-carpet event on July 12.

The Semoball Awards finalists for fall sports were announced Monday morning on a selection show broadcast live on SEMO ESPN Radio and streamed on the Facebook page.

The finalists were selected by a sports panel made up of representatives from the Southeast Missourian, Standard Democrat, Dexter Statesman, Daily American Republic and Delta Dunklin Democrat.

The Semoball Awards, presented by Mercy Hospital Southeast, returns to LaCroix Church on July 12 for an in-person, first-class, unforgettable, red-carpet awards show featuring the presentation of 28 awards and recognition of the Lifetime Achievement Award winner.

The event features a celebrity keynote speaker with some of the biggest names in sports having made appearances. Previous speakers include: two-time ESPY winner Kyle Maynard, softball great Jennie Finch, NFL player and TV analyst Mark Schlereth, World Series MVP David Eckstein, WNBA player Lisa Leslie, former pitcher and current broadcaster Rick Horton, former MLB relief pitcher Andrew Miller, comedian Mike Goodwin and Kansas City Chiefs mascot Dan Meers.

The Semoball Awards are presented by Mercy Hospital Southeast and brought to you by official bank sponsor The Bank of Missouri and title sponsors SEMO ESPN Radio, the St. Louis Cardinals, rustmedia and your local newspaper.

“We’re excited to kick off this year’s selection of Semoball Awards finalists,” said Lucas Presson, assistant publisher and general manager of the Southeast Missourian. “Southeast Missouri has some tremendous student-athletes doing tremendous things on the field and in the classroom. The Semoball Awards is a unique experience to celebrate those achievements with an unforgettable experience.”

Presson also noted a word of thanks to this year’s sponsors.

“We’re thankful for our tremendous group of sponsors who make the Semoball Awards possible,” Presson said. “These organizations represent the region well and are invested in the success of the region.”

Fall highlights

The 2023 football season saw two teams finish in the state semifinals. St. Vincent won its first district championship in 14 years. The Indians were led by finalists Christian Schaaf, John Schwartz and Drake Robinson, who led the area with 173 tackles. Cape Central returned to the state semifinals behind the running back duo of finalists Zai’Aire Thomas and Keyshawn Boyd who set school records for rushing touchdowns (34) and yards (2,238) in a season.

Woodland boys’ cross country won the Class 2 state championships, led by the brotherly duo of Calvin and Reed Layton, who also won the individual race. The Cardinals also finished second in the girls’ state meet.

The volleyball season saw plenty of schools win district titles, but only one team finished on top of the mountain. Advance, led by Lexi Hoffman, won its second straight state championship. It was also the Hornets’ fifth in the last six years.

Chaffee, led by an assortment of underclassmen, went all the way to the fall softball Class 2 championship game. The Red Devils came up short but their second-place finish is their highest in school history. The finalists for that sport will not be announced until the conclusion of the spring softball season.


  • * Jamario* Smith, Portageville
  • * Keyshaw* Boyd, Cape Central
  • * Zai’Aire Thomas, Cape Central
  • * Mark Panagos, Scott City
  • * Tyso* Underwood, Scott City
  • * Jadis Jones, New Madrid County Central
  • * Adria* Fox, Jackson
  • * Connor Marcum, East Prairie
  • * Christia* Schaaf, St. Vincent
  • * Kai Crowe, Jackson


  • * Drake Robinson, St. Vincent
  • * Loga* Hite, Poplar Bluff
  • * Maso* Adams, Portageville
  • * Rhyder Williams, Dexter
  • * Joh* Schwartz, St. Vincent
  • * Levi McKinnie, Chaffee
  • * Kaleb Huber, Perryville
  • * Reid Landers, Jackson
  • * Detravio* Gorman, Sikeston
  • * Jaso* Jones, New Madrid County Central
Don't miss the news!Get a weekly email with the latest news

Girls Golf

  • * Olivia Thetford, Poplar Bluff
  • * Grayso* Maurer, Notre Dame
  • * Alana Gilbert, Jackson
  • * Elizabeth Barnette, Notre Dame
  • * Julia Schlitt, Jackson

Girls Tennis

  • * Bea* & McAtee, Kennett/Holcomb
  • * Hilli* & Haley, Saxony Lutheran
  • * Galati & Mungee, Notre Dame
  • * Christi Tejada, Kennett/Holcomb
  • * Kaitly* Booker, Poplar Bluff

Boys Swimming

  • * Phineas Theall, Cape Central
  • * Wade LaValle, Jackson
  • * Kaide* Cracraft, Notre Dame
  • * Carso* Todd, Poplar Bluff
  • * Thomas Hasz, Saxony Lutheran

Boys Cross Country

  • * Bryce Gentry, Jackson
  • * Reed Layton, Woodland
  • * Calvi* Layton, Woodland
  • * Camero* Bell, Dexter
  • * Carter Hennemann, St. Vincent
  • * Jaxso* Houf, Va* Buren
  • * Brock Hobeck, Oak Ridge
  • * Jackso* Unterreiner, St. Vincent
  • * Ty Wilson, Oak Ridge
  • * Be* Dowdy, Dexter

Girls Cross Country

  • * Laure* Eftink, Notre Dame
  • * Faith Rouggly, Woodland
  • * Kately* Nichols, East Carter
  • * Aliyah Miller, East Carter
  • * Annika Barks, Jackson
  • * Presley Ridings, Woodland
  • * Myra Roth, Saxony Lutheran
  • * Ziah Been, Va* Buren
  • * Lilly Coy, Notre Dame
  • * Loga* Schiwitz, Scott City


  • * Bryce Sides, Notre Dame
  • * Diego Chahin, Notre Dame
  • * Luke Eggemeyer, Saxony Lutheran
  • * Ade* Garris, Perryville
  • * Aide* McMinn, Jackson
  • * Brade* Thompson, Jackson
  • * Presto* Schlichting, Cape Central
  • * Trista* Wiggins, Sikeston
  • * Colte* Palma, Poplar Bluff
  • * P.J. Farmer, Sikeston


  • * Lexi Hoffman, Advance
  • * Reaga* Howe, Oak Ridge
  • * Holland Guilliams, Jackson
  • * Emersy* Pitts, St. Vincent
  • * Bree Winchester, Clarkton
  • * Chloe Hendrix, Holcomb
  • * Jayla Weddington, Portageville
  • * Angela Dobbins, Malden
  • * Ramsey Spinks, Scott City
  • * Madiso* Jines, Bell City


TONY CAPOBIANCO ~ Southeast Missourian

Woodland cross country runners Reed and Calvin Layton attend the 2023 Semoball Awards.

Don't miss the news!Get a weekly email with the latest news